On Sabbath afternoon of May 19, the Family Ministry introduced married couples and single adults to Gary Chapman’s “The 5 Love Languages” by which he teaches how partners communicate love to each other. Your primary love language is that form of communication by which you most easily “hear” and receive love.

The 5 love languages are:

  1. Words of Affirmation – verbally approving or affirming your spouse
  2. Acts of Service – doing something for your spouse that you know they would like for you to do
  3. Receiving Gifts – as an expression of love, emphasizing the thoughtfulness and effort behind the gift
  4. Quality Time – giving your spouse your undivided attention
  5. Physical Touch – loving touches including hugs, pats on the back, holding hands

Communicating to your spouse in their primary love language will fill “their emotional love” tank and inspire them to reciprocate that love.

God also communicated His love thus: He gave us a “gift” by which also he “touched” our sinful lives and affirmed us in words as children of God. This was an “act of service;” we couldn’t do for ourselves, so we need to reflect on this in “daily devotion and worship.”